Lung and Mesothelioma

Lung cancer is one of the most common and serious types of cancer. Around 44,500 people are diagnosed with the condition every year in the UK (NHS Choices). There are two main types of primary lung cancer. These are classified by the type of cells in which the cancer starts: (1) non-small-cell lung cancer is the most common type, accounting for more than 80% of cases and it can be either squamous cell carcinoma, adenocarcinoma or large-cell carcinoma. (2) small-cell lung cancer is a less common type that usually spreads faster than non-small-cell lung cancer.

Mesothelioma is a type of cancer that develops in the lining that covers the outer surface of some of the body’s organs. It’s usually linked to asbestos exposure. It mainly affects the lining of the lungs (pleural mesothelioma) although it can also affect the lining of the stomach (peritoneal mesothelioma), heart or testicles (NHS Choices).

The overall aims of the Lung and Mesothelioma ECAG are to provide specialist advice and guidance to the East Midlands Cancer Clinical Network Steering Group, Clinical Commissioning Groups and the Specialist Commissioning Group (SCG) on the standards of service for patients with lung and mesothelioma cancers reflecting current best practice and opportunities for development.

The Lung and Mesothelioma ECAG will aim to ensure that patients with lung and mesothelioma cancers receive high quality equitable cancer care throughout the East Midlands Cancer Clinical Network regardless of geography or socio-economic factors and will, wherever possible, endeavour to improve the standard of care provided.

Professor David Baldwin
Consultant Physician in General & Respiratory Medicine
Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

Future meeting dates
Wednesday 1st November 2017

Key documents
pdfClinical guidelines